Denis Dion

Denis Dion has a Master’s degree in composition from Laval University and a DMA from the University of Southern California. Recipient of several distinctions in Canada, the United States and Europe, he receives commissions from Canadian and foreign orchestras. He has taught at the Faculty of Music of Laval University and the Conservatoire de musique de Québec, and has been radio host for Chaîne culturelle de Radio-Canada.

Denis Dion is a composer and describes himself as an artist passionate about music and sounds. Up to now, he had the opportunity to work with great musicians from here and abroad and composed music for concert, film and television.

His work was awarded by the Quebec Music Council at the 2001 Opus Awards ceremony, receiving the Opus Creation of the Year award. In 2002, he received a grant from the Canada Council for the Arts to perform as a composer-in-residence at the Trois-Rivières Symphony Orchestra for the 2002—04 seasons.

At the 2005 Prix-Opus gala, the composer was rewarded twice with the Opus Creation of the Year 2003-04 and Composer of the Year 2003-04.

In 2011, he won the third prize at the Prix des collégiens en musique contemporaine and most recently the First Prize at the Quebec Music Competition CMC-Québec (Québécor) and the Artistic Creation Award for the Region 2012 awarded by the Conseil des arts et de lettres du Quebec.

In April 2008, the Orchestre symphonique de Québec premiered the multimedia story Le clan des oiseaux commissioned by the Quebec City 400th Anniversary Celebrations Society.

Denis Dion is a member of the Canadian Music Center and his music is published by Dobermann-Yppan Publishing, CMC Publishing, and Canadian National Conservatory of Music, Musical Discoveries Northern Lights.

[iii-19]

Denis Dion

Denis Dion possède une maîtrise en composition de l’Université Laval et un doctorat de l’University of Southern California (Los Angeles). Récipiendaire de plusieurs distinctions au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe, il reçoit des commandes d’orchestres canadiens et étrangers. Il a enseigné à la Faculté de musique de l’Université Laval ainsi qu’au Conservatoire de musique de Québec, et a été commentateur pour le Service de la musique de la Chaîne culturelle de Radio-Canada.

Denis Dion est compositeur et se décrit comme un artiste passionné de musique et de sons. À cette date, il a eu l’occasion de travailler avec des musiciens d’ici et de l’étranger et a réalisé des musiques tant pour le concert, le cinéma et la télévision.

Son travail a été récompensé par le Conseil Québécois de la musique lors de la remise des prix Opus 2001 en recevant l’Opus Création de l’année. En 2002, il obtient une bourse du Conseil des Arts du Canada lui permettant d’agir à titre de compositeur en résidence à l’ Orchestre Symphonique de Trois-Rivières pour les saisons 2002-04.

Au gala des prix Opus 2005 le compositeur fut récompensé à deux reprises en recevant l’Opus Création de l’année 2003-04 ainsi que de l’Opus Compositeur de l’année 2003-04.

En 2011, il remporte le troisième prix au Prix des collégiens en musique contemporaine et plus récemment le Premier prix au Concours de musique québécoise CMC-Québec (Québécor) ainsi que le Prix à la création artistique en région 2012 décerné par le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

En avril 2008, l’ Orchestre symphonique de Québec présentait en première le conte multimédia Le clan des oiseaux commandé par la Société des fêtes du 400e anniversaire de la ville de Québec.

Denis Dion est membre du Centre de musique canadienne et sa musique est publiée aux Éditions Dobermann-Yppan, aux Éditions du CMC ainsi qu’aux Éditions Canadian National Conservatory of Music, Musical Discoveries «Northern Lights».

[iii-19]