Sandeep Bhagwati

Sandeep Bhagwati was born in Bombay in 1963 and is a composer, poet, multimedia artist, festival director, publicist and researcher.

His multi-media concert installations, his music theatre works (among them three operas), orchestra and ensemble compositions, his chamber music and comprovisation scores are performed worldwide at leading festivals and venues, too numerous to list here. In 2014, the “Time of Music Festival” in Viitasaari, Finland showed a retrospective of his works. In 1991, he won the European Composition Prize awarded by the Academy of Arts Berlin, and in 1997 and 2003 the Ernst-von Siemens award for festivals he founded, the A•Devantgarde Festival in Munich (active since 1991), and the KlangRiffe Festival in Karlsruhe (2003). He has been composer-in-residence at the Beethoven Orchestra Bonn, the Darmstadt Initiative for New Music and Education, the Turku Music Academy, and the California Institute for the Arts.

He has also curated a long-term collaborative project between prominent musicians of the Hindustani tradition and the Ensemble Modern Frankfurt, and has toured with it to Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Venice Biennial, HKW Berlin, World New Music Festival Stuttgart and the National Center for the Performing Arts in Mumbai.

While in Germany, he published many articles on new music and the arts in quality weeklies and dailies such as Süddeutsche Zeitung, Die Zeit, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, and wrote a large number of radio features and radio plays for German public radio stations.

After studies at the Mozarteum Salzburg, Music University of Munich and the IRCAM Paris, he freelanced for a decade before he accepted a position as professor of composition at Karlsruhe Music University (Germany). From there he moved to Montréal as the Canada Research Chair for Inter-X Arts and founded matralab, a node for research-creation in the performing arts he directs at Concordia University since 2007. He was a guest and visiting professor at Heidelberg University, University for the Arts Berlin, Flame University Pune and has lectured and taught master-classes at many universities and conservatories worldwide. His academic work is published with academic publishers such as Springer, Routledge, Delatour and Schott.

His current research focus lies on generative and tactile and audio scores for moving musicians, on artificial intelligence driven comprovisation software, on inter- and trans-traditional musicking, and on new presentation formats for digitally informed performance-creation.

After many creative collaborations with traditional musicians around the world he has founded and directs three ensembles of trans-traditional new music in Berlin (Ensemble Extrakte), Montréal (Ecstasie of Influence) and Pune, India (Ensemble Sangeet Prayog) and is about to embark on a collaborative project with indigenous Tao singers on the Pacific island of Lan Yu near Taiwan, sponsored by the Music University of Vienna.

Apart from dispersed works on curated albums of other musicians, Bhagwati has so far published 2 monographic CDs: Dhvani Sutras (2016) with Ensemble Sangeet Prayog Pune and Treatises (2017) with Ensemble Extrakte Berlin. Several CD projects will appear in 2019, such as a multi-album with 5 different complete recordings of his Miyagi Haikus cycle, an electronica album called Iterations in collaboration with Gebrüder Teichmann, a album with an a cappella work sung by the Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart Atish-e-Zaban and an live-album called …et je reverrai cette ville étrange, a trans-traditional re-imagining of the eponymous score by Claude Vivier — a live recording of the programme premiered in 2015 at Vivier together with musicians from Montréal such as Kiya Tabassian, Gabriel Dharmoo, Shawn Mativetsky, Reza Abaee, Didem Basar, Guy Pelletier, Navid Navab, Sal Zissokho and Nic Caloia.

Sandeep Bhagwati

Sandeep Bhagwati est né à Bombay en 1963 et est compositeur, poète, artiste multimédia, directeur de festival, publicitaire et chercheur.

Ses installations de concert multimédias, ses œuvres de théâtre musical (dont trois opéras), ses compositions pour orchestre et ensemble, sa musique de chambre et ses partitions de comprovisation sont jouées dans le monde entier dans les plus grands festivals et salles, trop nombreux pour être énumérés ici. En 2014, le “Time of Music Festival” à Viitasaari, Finlande, a présenté une rétrospective de sa musique. En 1991, il remporte le Prix européen de composition décerné par l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Berlin, en 1997 et 2003 le prix Ernst-von Siemens pour les festivals qu’il a fondés, le Festival A-Devantgarde à Munich (actif depuis 1991) et le Festival KlangRiffe à Karlsruhe (2003). Il a été compositeur en résidence à l’Orchestre Beethoven de Bonn, à la Darmstadt Initiative for New Music and Education, à la Turku Music Academy et au California Institute for the Arts.

Il a également été commissaire d’un projet de collaboration à long terme entre d’éminents musiciens de la tradition hindoustani et l’Ensemble Modern Frankfurt, et a effectué des tournées avec lui au Concertgebouw Amsterdam, la Biennale de Venise, HKW Berlin, le World New Music Festival Stuttgart et le Centre national des arts du spectacle à Mumbai.

Pendant son séjour en Allemagne, il a publié de nombreux articles sur la musique nouvelle et les arts dans des hebdomadaires et des quotidiens de qualité tels que Süddeutsche Zeitung, Die Zeitung, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, et a écrit un grand nombre de chroniques et de pièces radiophoniques pour des stations de radio allemande publique.

Après des études au Mozarteum de Salzbourg, à l’Université de musique de Munich et à l’IRCAM de Paris, il a travaillé en freelance pendant une décennie avant d’accepter un poste de professeur de composition à l’Université de Musique à Karlsruhe (Allemagne). De là, il s’est installé à Montréal comme titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada Inter-X Arts et a fondé matralab, un centre de recherche-création en arts de la scène qu’il dirige à l’Université Concordia depuis 2007. Il a été invité et professeur invité à l’Université de Heidelberg, à l’Université des Arts de Berlin, à l’Université FLAME de Pune et a donné des conférences et donné des masterclasses dans de nombreuses universités et conservatoires du monde entier. Ses travaux universitaires sont publiés chez des éditeurs universitaires tels que Springer, Routledge, Delatour et Schott.

Ses recherches actuelles portent sur les partitions génératives et tactiles et les partitions audio pour musiciens en mouvement, sur les logiciels de comprovisation basés sur l’intelligence artificielle, sur la musique inter et trans-traditionnelle, et sur les nouveaux formats de présentation pour la création de performances numériques éclairées.

Après de nombreuses collaborations créatives avec des musiciens traditionnels du monde entier, il a fondé et dirige trois ensembles de musique nouvelle trans-traditionnelle à Berlin (Ensemble Extrakte), Montréal (Ecstasie of Influence) et Pune, en Inde (Ensemble Sangeet Prayog) et s’apprête à entreprendre un projet de collaboration avec des chanteurs indigènes Tao sur l’île de Lan Yu, dans le Pacifique, à Taiwan comme compositeur invité de l’Université de Musique de Vienne (Autriche).

A part des enregistrements dispersés dans des publications d’autres musicians, Bhagwati lui-même a publié jusqu’à présent deux CD monographiques: Dhvani Sutras (2016) avec l’Ensemble Sangeet Prayog Pune et Treatises (2017) avec l’Ensemble Extrakte Berlin. Plusieurs projets de CD paraîtront en 2019, comme un album multiple avec 5 enregistrements complets différents de son cycle Miyagi Haikus, un album électronique intitulé Iterations en collaboration avec Gebrüder Teichmann, un album avec une œuvre a cappella chantée par les Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart Atish-e-Zaban et un album live intitulé …et je reverrai cette ville étrange, une réimagination trans-traditionnelle de la partition éponyme de Claude Vivier — un enregistrement en direct du programme créé en 2015 au Vivier avec des musiciens de Montréal tels que Kiya Tabassian, Gabriel Dharmoo, Shawn Mativetsky, Reza Abaee, Didem Basar, Guy Pelletier, Navid Navab, Sal Zissokho et Nic Caloia.