Cartel 2016 / Introduction

New Music Cartel is a Montréal based conference for new music curators, organized by Le Vivier, crossroads of new musics in Montréal, and in collaboration with the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival; SNYK, the national centre for contemporary, experimental music and sound art in Denmark; and REDCAT in Los Angeles.

Cartel 2016 is a continuation of the CartelMTL meeting organized in Montréal in June 2014 and the Trans-Atlantic festival network conferences organized in Copenhagen in September 2015, and will focus on ways to develop collaboration between contemporary music presenters in Europe and North America.

Cartel’s third edition will take place between June 1st and 5th 2016 during the Suoni Per Il Popolo festival. Besides attending meetings, participants will be able to attend an exciting array of concerts presented by the Suoni Per Il Popolo and Le Vivier.

Pierrette Gingras
Directrice générale, Le Vivier

Graham McKenzie
Artistic Director, hcmf//

Thorbjørn Tønder Hansen
Director, SNYK

Lauren Pratt
Associate Producer for Music, REDCAT

Cartel 2016 / Présentation

Cartel est une conférence internationale pour les diffuseurs et directeurs artistiques spécialisés en musiques nouvelles, organisée par Le Vivier en collaboration avec le Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival; SNYK, le centre national du Danemark pour la musique contemporaine, la musique expérimentale et l’art sonore; et REDCAT, à Los Angeles.

En continuité avec CartelMTL, organisée à Montréal en juin 2014, et avec la conférences de réseautage organisées à Copenhague en septembre 2015, Cartel 2016 est axée sur le développement de la collaboration entre diffuseurs de musique nouvelle d’Europe et d’Amérique.

La troisième édition de Cartel a lieu du 1er au 5 juin 2016 dans le cadre du festival Suoni Per Il Popolo. En plus de participer à des rencontres formelles, les participants ont la chance d’assister à une saisissante sélection de concerts présentée par Suoni Per Il Popolo et Le Vivier.

Pierrette Gingras
Directrice générale, Le Vivier

Graham McKenzie
Artistic Director, hcmf//

Thorbjørn Tønder Hansen
Director, SNYK

Lauren Pratt
Associate Producer for Music, REDCAT